Risk harmonization
How Risk Register harmonises risk assessments
Risk Register for Jira Cloud runs a background harmonisation process to keep risk assessments aligned with the risk model configured for their project.
Risk Register applies these updates automatically in the background. You do not need to edit individual risk assessments unless a value is set to Unspecified after harmonisation.
The process:
Moves risk assessments to the project’s current risk model when required.
Recalculates risk assessment values from the associated risk model.
When risk assessments move to another risk model
Each risk assessment is associated with a risk model. Usually, this is the risk model configured for the project that contains the assessment.
A risk assessment can become associated with a different risk model when:
The risk was migrated from Jira Server or Data Center and was associated with the default server-side risk model.
The risk was migrated from Jira Server or Data Center into a Cloud project that uses a different risk model.
An administrator removes an explicit association between a risk model and the project.
An administrator adds an explicit association between a risk model and the project.
When a risk assessment is associated with a risk model that differs from the project’s current risk model, the harmonisation process moves the assessment from the source risk model to the target risk model.
During the move, Risk Register maps assessment values as follows:
Impact values are mapped to the corresponding values in the target risk model. Corresponding values are matched by position after the impact scales are aligned by their most significant values.
Probability values are mapped in the same way as impact values.
Risk level values are recalculated using the mappings defined in the target risk model.
If an impact or probability value has no corresponding value in the target risk model, Risk Register sets the value to Unspecified. This can happen when the source risk model has larger dimensions than the target risk model.
When risk assessment values are recalculated
Risk Register recalculates risk levels from the mappings defined in the risk assessment’s associated risk model.
This recalculation is required when:
Risks are migrated from Jira Server or Data Center.
An administrator changes the risk model associated with the project that contains the risk.